President Abella inks partnership with DOST-ITDI
JNLucero | 07/25/2018 07:10:18 am

DOST Secretary Fortunato dela Peña (center) with DOST directors, and university presidents after the ceremonial MOU signing

Dr. Tereso A. Abella, president, Central Luzon State University (CLSU), inked a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Department of Science and Technology - Industrial Technology Development Institute (DOST-ITDI) for the implementation of the Graduate Research Collaboration Program (DOST-ITDI GRCP).

The ceremonial signing was held at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City last July 3 on the occasion of ITDI’s 117th anniversary.

CLSU is one of 15 academic institutions throughout the country which embarked partnership with the DOST regarding the said program.

“The Graduate Research Collaboration Program or GRCP aims to build linkages and competencies for national development by promoting R&D collaboration, technical assistance to students, and publication of research results,” said Dr. Annabelle Briones, deputy director for R&D.

The initiative encourages the graduate students to take advantage of the on-going programs and projects of the lead institution by aligning their research activities to the current multidisciplinary R&D areas of DOST-ITDI on chemicals, energy, environment, biotechnology, food processing, materials science, and packaging which are paramount to Harmonized National R&D Agenda (HNRDA), a development plan prepared by the DOST geared towards the realization of “AmBisyon Natin 2040”.

In his keynote speech, DOST Secretary Fortunato Dela Peña, said the DOST’s collaboration with the academe will further strengthen its efforts in solving problems in the region which can be addressed through science and technology, and in helping all concerned in research areas where there is good opportunity or potential in the regions.

Aside from CLSU, the other academic institutions involved in the DOST-ITDI-GRCP are the following: Xavier University, University of the Philippines - Diliman, Batangas State University, Bulacan State University, Batangas State University, Adamson University, Mindanao State University - Iligan Institute of Technology, Caraga State University, Cagayan State University, Saint Louis University, Philippine Women’s University, and FEATI University, University of Santo Tomas, Mapua University, and De La Salle University.

They will facilitate the assistance provided by the DOST-ITDI to the different regions in the country.

Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara, Undersecretary for Research and Development of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) visited CLSU particularly its research and development (R&D) centers/projects last October 4. The Undersecretary was toured to the Agriculture and Food Technology Inc...

Agriculture Secretary William D. Dar was guest of honor during the “Forum on Unleashing Innovation in Modernizing the Agriculture Sector’ last August 29. The forum was held at the RET Amphitheater. Above photo shows the Secretary delivering his message to a big audience from the acade...

A group of faculty members and students from the College of Engineering (CEn)- Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (DABE), bagged several prestigious award during its 30th Agricultural Engineering week held last April 21-27 along with the 16th International Agricultur...

Two foreign visitors from the United Kingdom, Dr. Christine tait-burkard, Assistant Professor at Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh (3rd from left); and Ingrida Razuinaite, Post-doctoral research scientist, Roslin Institute under Dr. Christine taite-burkard (4th from ...

Dr. Tereso A. Abella (right) administers the oath of the newly-designated dean of the College of Engineering, Dr. Victorino T. Taylan. The oathtaking was held at the CLSU Multi-Purpose Gym last April 22 during the Flag Raising Ceremony.