ISPEAR faculty elected president of CLSU Faculty Association, Inc.
PAO | 08/03/2016 11:06:33 am

Assoc. Prof. Ramon L. Sabacan of the Institute of Physical Education Athletic and Recreation (center) who was elected as president of the Faculty Association, Inc. (FAI) on July 28, 2016 takes his oath administered by Dr. Tereso A. Abella, CLSU president. Witnessing  the oathtaking  held in the Office of the President are (from left) Prof. Nemesio V. Torres, immediate past FAI president; Dr. Michael C.  Mabalay, NSTP director and Director Adorable P. Pineda of the Presidential Management Office. As FAI president, Prof. Sabacan will serve for a term of two years and will sit during the period as a member of the CLSU Board of Regents.

Assoc. Professor Ramon L. Sabacan, faculty of the Institute of Physical Education and Athletic Recreation, was elected as president of the CLSU Faculty Association, Inc.  (FAI) last July 28.

He succeeds Prof. Nemesio V. Torres, immediate past president of the FAI. Prof. Sabacan will serve a two-year term.

As FAI president, Prof. Sabacan automatically becomes a member of the CLSU Board of Regents as faculty representative.

Dr. Esmeraldo M. Cabana, faculty at the College of Veterinary Science and Medicine, one of the three aspirants to the position who got the second highest votes, was named vice president of the FAI as stipulated in the association’s by-laws.

According to Prof. Sabacan, the other FAI officers (secretary, treasurer, public relations officer and business manager) will be elected from among and by the 13 representatives from the colleges, institutes, and schools of the university. The other representatives will become members of the FAI Board of Directors.

Among the activities he will immediately look into are the following: creation of committees; review and amendment of the FAI Constitution; and meeting with the faculty members to “listen to their concerns/problems and suggestions for improvement.”

A total of 222 faculty members of the university participated in the election held at the D.G. Tan Hall of the College of Education.

CLSU has a total of 410 faculty members but a number of them are on study leave while others were on official business at the time of the election.

As it marked its 111th Founding Anniversary last April 12, Central Luzon State University vowed to continue “spreading cheers to humanity.”  This theme which guided the week-long celebrations was inspired by a  line from the  Univ...

The Central Luzon State University formally signed an agreement with the University of Liverpool (UoL), United Kingdom, to offer Dual/Double Degree, PhD in Food Security Systems by Research come August 2018 during the UK-PH Now Launching Fair held on February 16 at Shangrila, Maka...

GRADUATION SPEAKER - Mr. Jaime J. Bautista, president and chief operations officer of the Philippine Airlines, delivers his address as guest of honor and speaker to the 626 mid-year graduates of CLSU. The ceremony was held at the University Graduation Site last Fe...

President Tereso A. Abella and VP Academic Affairs Melissa E. Agulto deliver their respective messages for the newly-hired faculty members of CLSU. Both officials advised them to discharge their duties with commitment and dedication.

The CLSU Administrative Council headed by Dr. Tereso A. Abella, university president, conducted a planning and team building at the Park Inn by Radison, Clark, Pampanga last January 26-28. The activity had for its theme “Improved quality of higher education and research for ...