Three more CLSU undergraduate programs subjected to Level 4 accreditation by AACCUP
JP Burnot | 12/17/2013 03:55:34 PM

Three more undergraduate programs of CLSU – BS Agriculture, Bachelor in Elementary Education, and Bachelor in Secondary Education – were submitted for Level 4 Phase 1 accreditation by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP).

Moreover, the BS Information Technology also underwent 1st survey while the BS Civil Engineering program (Level 3 Phase 1), underwent revisit of Area V (Research). The five-day accreditation which started last December 9 was carried out by a group of seasoned accreditors headed by Dr. Marietta B. Arinto of Leyte Normal University as overall coordinator, and also the team leader of the accreditors for the Bachelor in Secondary Education Program.

To recall, it was barely more than two months since the university first subjected two of its undergraduate programs – BS Chemistry and BS Biology – to the said highest level of accreditation. The other accreditors Dr. Marlene B. Atinyao of Benguet State University (BSU), team leader for BS Agriculture program; Prof. Allen M. Paz, Isabela State University, team leader of the accrediting team for the Information Technology program;

Prof. Douglas Angel A. Aragon of Central Bicol State University of Agriculture (CBSUA), team leader for the revisit of Area 5 (BSCE program); and Dr. Wilma F. Medrano, University of Northern Philippines, team leader of the accreditation team for BEEd program. The members are: Dr. Eligio B. Sacayanan, Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU); Dr. Lita B. Colting,BSU; Dr. Florie B. Gapido, University of Rizal System; Dr. Louisa P. Pladio, BSU; Dr. Lorena F. Hernandez, CBSUA; Dr. Antonio E. Madrid, DMMMSU; Dr. Renato A. Sawey Ilocos Sur Polytechnic State College; Prof. Rebecca B. Napiere, Visayas State University; Dr. Emerita R. Hongo, Nueva Viscaya State University; Dr. Elucila M. Sespeñe, Palawan State University; Prof. Luis M. Abrenica, DMMMSU; and Prof. Juanito C. Corpuz, also of DMMMSU.

Dr. Ruben C. Sevilleja led the CLSU officials in welcoming the accreditors and providing them salient information about the university’s programs and activities during the welcome dinner at the CLSU Guest House (December 8). Also, the president gave a message in the December 9 opening program held at the IGS Mini Theater. Dr. Tereso A. Abella, Vice President for Academic Affairs, gave a short welcome remarks.

According to Dr. Mario Suba, university accreditation coordinator, the accomplishments of the programs eyeing for Level 4 accreditation were evaluated based on 10 areas, to wit: 1)Vision, Mission, Goals and Objectives (VMGO), 2) Faculty, 3) Curriculum and Instruction, 4) Support to Students, 5) Research, 6) Extension and Community Involvement, 7) Library, 8) Physical Plant and Facilities, 9) Laboratory, and 10) Administration. Dr. Rhodora I. dela Rosa, Dr. Federico O. Perez, and Dr. Ireneo C. Agulto, deans of the Colleges of Education, Agriculture, and Engineering, respectively, together with Engr. Nemesio Macabale, Jr., director of the Information Systems Institute, expressed optimism that their respective programs will pass the said accreditation.

Dr. Suba also said that five programs are up for Level 4 accreditation within the first quarter of 2014. He also said that the BS Chemistry and BS Biology have passed the Level 4 Phase 1 accreditation conducted last September 24-28 but the official report has yet to be provided to the university.

TOPNOTCHERS IN AGGIE LICENSURE EXAM – Three graduates from the College of Agriculture (CAg) landed 3rd, 6th, and 9th places in the November 2017 Agriculturist Licensure Exam.


President Tereso A. Abella switches the Christmas lights at the CLSU Gate and other areas inside the university amid the loud cheers of students and other spectators.

The activity which was held last November 29 ushered in the Christmas celebration on campus with the theme “Isang ...

The Central Luzon State University played host to the Philippines and Thailand Binational Conference held last November 27-28.

The activity which was aimed at contributing to the enhancement of the participants’ knowledge in agriculture technologies and community development was a...

Two graduates of the CLSU College of Fisheries (CLSU-CF) made it to the Top 10 in the Licensure Exam for Fisheries Technologists administered by the Professional Regulation Commission and the Board of Fisheries in October 2017.

They are Mr. Marwin Buenaventura dela Cruz, 3rd...

Central Luzon State University emerged overall champion of the 2017 Culture and Arts Festival of State Universities and Colleges, Region III (CAASUC III) held at the Philippine Merchant Marine Academy last October 26-28.

It bested 12 other participating institutions.

CLSU won the ...